OSU-Mexico Liaison Office Hosts Latin American Independence Fiesta

Friday, September 12, 2008

17 Latin American countries had a fiesta at OSU to celebrate their independence. Those countries celebrating independence were: in July, – Argentina, Colombia, Perú, Puerto Rico (US Independence Day) and Venezuela; in August – Bolivia, Ecuador and Uruguay; and, in September – Belize, Brazil, Chile, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, México and Nicaragua. The fiesta was hosted by LASA, LDCC, HSA, HSFA, SAGA and the OSU - Mexico Liaison Office at the Wes Watkins Center’s Exhibit Hall on Friday, September 12th. More than 250 people attended the event which featured food, cultural presentations and dancing. For more information about the event, email José Sagarnaga at jose.sagarnaga@okstate.edu or Brenda Morales at blm@okstate.edu or Pedro Lozada at pedro.lozada@okstate.edu.